1Likes
  • 1 Post By shandalo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 01:33 AM Thread Starter
Registered Member

Throttle Body Spacer + Injen Cold Air Intake

Hey guys

Big newbie here but me and my dad have been around cars for a while

Our weekend project is to install Silver Bullet Throttle Body Space and Injen Cold Air Intake...

I've seen some videos online about installing both separately. But I have a question.

In this one

He kind of just shoves the CAI back in there and the one mounting bracket is kind of bending (because you've extended the dimensions of where the CAI is attaching) and he kind of just goes with it but the bracket looks like it is barely hanging on.

I've read online other places you are supposed to trim the rubber gasket attaching the CAI to Body spacer

Is that correct? What do you use to trim it with? Or have others just said screw it and just shove the whole thing in there to try and make it fit.

Cheers!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 11:15 PM
Registered Member

Return them both - hit up heel toe they are offering the CT airbox now - if you have to go big pipe AEM is still king, spacer does nothing except heat up and cause turbulence where it's a bad thing.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 12:00 AM
@fsocietytsx
 photo 15_zps17d8f38c.png

Do what you have to do and make it fit. Whether it's trim the gasket or extend the bracket. If you don't need the spacer I wouldn't run it, but that's my opinion. I once ran a 20mm spacer but that's because I needed to move the TB. Make sense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Bartow View Post
Hey guys

Big newbie here but me and my dad have been around cars for a while

Our weekend project is to install Silver Bullet Throttle Body Space and Injen Cold Air Intake...

I've seen some videos online about installing both separately. But I have a question.

In this one