Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a 2004 acura tsx with 76,221 miles on it. It is a manual transmission car. The car had NY inspection stickers on it and I purchased the car in northeast philadelphia. The car was purchased at a privately owned dealership. Part of the terms of purchase was that the car passed inspection. They bought it to their friends next door to them in the parking lot to inspect. It passed inspection and I picked the car up.

I have been driving MT for about 8 years now, and consider myself a good driver (of course). I think the clutch was slipping a little bit when I test drove the car. I didnt know that it was actually slipping because I described it to my father after it broke. I thought that it was a feature of the newer car because I havent driven anything except an integra '94. The owner of the dealer said that he never noticed it and the inspection shop took the car on the road and never said anything. I wasnt going to buy the car if they found anything wrong with it.

I did purchase a 3 month / 4,000 mile warranty for 100 bucks. This warranty specifically states that it doesnt cover a manual clutch and related components. The warranty is from C.A.R.S. protection plus in Murraysville pa. Here is the exact warranty: Power Train - C.A.R.S. Protection Plus | Call (888) 335-6838 today!

I purchased the car late wednesday night and on saturday morning I was trying to merge onto the highway and the rpm's just went up and the car never accelerated. When I pulled off to the side I could sit with the car in gear and no foot on the clutch and it wasnt stalling. The car wouldnt move anywhere. I had it towed back to the dealer who said that it was a burned out clutch.

He told me today that the clutch isnt covered under warranty and it would be $1100 parts and labor to repair. I asked him if anything else needed to be done and he said no, just replace clutch.