Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day fellow TSX owners. I just got a CPO 2008 base automatic last Thursday and already looking at doing a simple upgrade on the speakers and maybe adding a 4 channel amp later (more likely sooner). I've ordered a pair of Polk db6501, a pair of 650, and a pair of 6x9. I went with Polk because i think they are good value for money.

I am a beginner at car audio, having only installed an amp once in my 06 Pilot. I've been reading a lot about TSX audio upgrade and can't find a definitive answer to my question regarding adding an amp.

I plan to get a 4-channel amp, bypass the factory amp and send power to the front comps and rear deck 6x9s. I don't plan to add a sub for now since my 5-year old son sits at the back. Can I just get a 4-channel with speaker level input and splice at the connector before the factory amp? I've done this before on my Pilot before I replaced the HU. I don't know how to use an LOC. Do I need a harness like Mercmans? I believe he doesn't make them anymore. Any help will be appreciated.

·
, Moderator, Performance
2,513 Posts
if your a beginner at this i do not recommend you tackle this...

but, you would use the factory amps as pre amps, than run the SPLO's of the factory amp into the inputs of your new amp and than the out puts of the new amp to the speakers. This is alot of wiring, and the whole car will have to be in pieces for this to happen.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3