Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
737 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I want a boost gauge in my car. Sounds simple, right? Not really..... I've done lots of research on where people put them. The A-pillar is a terrible idea, last thing I want is a gauge flying in my face if the airbag ever goes off. Another idea was on top of the steering column or in front of the cluster, but I didn't like the fact that it would cover either the fuel or temp gauge. The cubby under the stereo is a bad idea because a) I like the storage room b) if i ever modify it, ill put a screen in there. So that doesn't leave me with any good options that don't look ricey.

I have a little bit of electrical knowledge, im a first year EE student, so i know my way around. So I thought hey what the hell, might as well make a small boost gauge that I can put anywhere.

After searching for what I need, I found the three main components.
1) MPX5100 pressure sensor
2)LM3914 Flash ADC comparator and LED driver
3)10 LED bar display

The sensor is rated at 15 psi, which is more than enough for the supercharger.

So the sensor will produce a voltage that will go into the display driver, and using potentiometers i will fine tune how many psi i want per LED, its still up in the air, im thinking 1 light=1 PSI, because I have plans for higher boost later.

I have this circuit built on a breadboard and now I have to check and make sure it works, then fine tune it, solder it on a board and install. Ill post some pictures of the progress!

Any feedback or ideas are appreciated!

·
Registered
856 Posts
Highly doubt an A pillar gauge would be a hazard. This is a mythical concern with the 2008+ Subaru crowd; plenty of videos have shown the airbag won't affect the A-pillar. Going to assume it is the same here.

Anyway, cool project. Good luck.

·
Triple Platinum Member
598 Posts