Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie to this website, though I have been reading posts for quite some time now.
I am looking to buy a new TSX. It will be my first car purchase. It is a 2005 base model with 6MT and close to 91k miles. The dealer is selling it for 11.5k(includes everything - fees, sales tax etc.). It felt pretty strong during the test drive, clutch felt superb & interiors looked pretty decent. However, my only concern is that the car has some rust under the hood. There is a minor chip off (smaller than a 5 cent coin but he says he would cover it up).
I have read different opinions so I am not sure if I should be worried. I would appreciate if I could get any advice on the rust issue - is the car not worth it due to this, can I get it fixed on my own, does it indicate flooding or salvage which is not mentioned in carfax (the carfax states it as a clean vehicle). I am sure other members' experience will be invaluable to me.

I have uploaded some pictures on flickr & the link for the same is:
Flickr: marinertsx's Photostream

Thanks so much for.

·
Registered
40 Posts
looks like a car that spent some time near the ocean or in salt truck area. Not necessarily bad but it takes points off since it doesnt look like it is more than skin deep. My jeep had more and it didnt care a bit. On that note I didnt tolerate any on my tsx when i bought it since this is my nice clean car.

·
, Chief SuperModerator, Info Center / Car Care & D
5,036 Posts
Check in the trunk where the spare tire is supposed to be at. If you see rust in there, it's a good sign the car's been in a flood. I once saw a car like that when I was looking for used cars and immediately walked away.

·
, Administrator, TOTM Coordinator
6,858 Posts
:/ I say keep looking.

TSX's are still too new to settle for one w/ rust in the engine bay..

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5