Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Picked up my TSX 2 weeks ago.. only have 700 or so miles on it now.

I've driven a manual most of my life, but shifting into first or second seems abnormal... as if I have to let up slower on the clutch than other cars

Question is... is this normal? Is the clutch just maybe not *worn in* yet? To me it should be just much easier when new.

Maybe its the throttle? When you let up on the gas when in gear, then tap back on it it seems jumpy.. maybe this is what's causing the issue.

Any other experiences along these lines?

·
your mom goes to college
120 Posts
i know i have kinda the same problem, but im not sure...when i shift from 1rst to 2nd and i redline, i tend to hear a grind...lol i know im raping the transmission but wondering if anyone has the same problem. or if im just a very crappy driver.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the welcome!

I know this is such the topic of discussion, but three weeks before I got the TSX, my SO bought a new Legacy GT/5 speed... so we now have the two most compared vehicles these days... haha!

Anyway keep me posted about the clutch.. I know its hydraulic but are there any ajustments the dealer can perform on it?

·
Registered
67 Posts
i just my tsx 3 days ago. and i'm having that trouble with 1st to 2nd. it's not a smooth transition. my friend says that i'm coming off it too late...or too slow...or too fast. i think you have to rev match so that you can have a smooth shift. ie. apply gas as you come off the clutch.

dont take my word for it...i'm just learning just like everyone else. maybe we should get the experts in here.

·
Registered
106 Posts
GFP14 said:
i just my tsx 3 days ago. and i'm having that trouble with 1st to 2nd. it's not a smooth transition. my friend says that i'm coming off it too late...or too slow...or too fast. i think you have to rev match so that you can have a smooth shift. ie. apply gas as you come off the clutch.