1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
895 Posts
Nice, but why are the brakes rated so badly for the tsx? Mine are okay(no name replaced by the dealer), but I don't see a lot of people complaining about them here.

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The rear brake pads wear too fast.

·
未来へと
2,253 Posts
I kind of have to agree, our oem brakes is so so, it needs improvement.

·
Registered
2,810 Posts
the 09 had a rear brake pad settlement lawsuit, i guess the 1st gen had pretty bad brakes too?

·
Registered
3,436 Posts
Brakes

Brakes are a common complaint even for the current Acura reviews ... My 2004 rear brakes lasted 6 years & 65,000 miles ... which I would like to think is good but I am no expert on the subject matter. Front ones are still doing OK.

·
未来へと
2,253 Posts
I replaced mine around 40+K and had mine replaced at the dealership, sorta regret it because I could have saved money and gotten a much better rotors and pads (aftermarket) and save money. But back then I didn't know anything about the prices of aftermarket rotors and pads.

·
Premium Member
8,413 Posts
IMO, Brake wear is dependent on each person driving style. Some people are hard on their brakes, and some aren't...

·
Registered
572 Posts
IMO, Brake wear is dependent on each person driving style. Some people are hard on their brakes, and some aren't...
agreed. another variable is whether the driver does a lot of city driving (stop and go), or highway (cruising or stop-and-go traffic).

to the OP, thanks for that post. Prior to even reading threads/posts about our brakes, I felt like my brakes were not biting hard enough.

I remember reading an article in Motor Trend, and it was comparing three cars, with one of them being a CTS-V. Obviously, it was modded, and that included the brake system. The article stated how the brakes were so good that there was an incident where OnStar thought the CTS-V got into a collision.