Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so i bought this 04 tsx for 1000$ and it had a black screen on the navigation ac blew warm. I opened the trunk and the navigation drive is missing I'm assuming ac isn't working because it's part of touch display My question is. Can I swap in a regular non navigation stereo and be done or will I have to change wiring
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Been wondering the same thing. I'm new to the forums and would like to keep up with this thread if anybody has information.

Good luck!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Yeah, I would appreciate if somebody had some more info. I tried asking a friend working at DSRLeasing, but he didn't know as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
115 Posts
Mine is really slow and doesnt move on the map, sometimes the screen wont come up and will stay black.

I cleaned out the unit in the trunk, cleaned the laser, then changed the DVD drive with a replacement from DHGate and it still isnt working 100%. My next step is to find a newer CD thats in better shape, I'm theorizing that maybe my CD is too scratched up (even after the Scratch Doctor thing from Amazon used on it)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Bump......


I would really like to know if this would be an easy swap. I never use my navi screen and would love the simple climate control buttons.

Navi is worthless - don't let anyone try to say their TSX is worth more if you're buying one bc of navi.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
bump. I would also like to know. the navi bothers me. faded screen and takes forever to load. Made a thread last month asking about navi to non navi with zero replies.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Same Here, Bought a new drive from China and cant get that working yet. Missing my other controls like stereo and other info. Sorry I bought the navi now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Switched out my 2007 Navi to non-navy today with a 2006 non-navi radio and clock. Only plug was left not used from the Navi harness but other than that no issues.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
From the searching I have done, it seems I can use a 2005 or 2004 in my 2004.

How tough was the job? I am dying to do this. Any photos?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
From the searching I have done, it seems I can use a 2005 or 2004 in my 2004.

How tough was the job? I am dying to do this. Any photos?
If you have ever taken out a radio/door panel/etc it is pretty easy. There is a screw behind the flasher button, and a screw on each side under the silver/wood trim pieces that go along the dash (the trim pops off with a pry tool). Then you grab the pocket under the radio and pull it straight out. There are two bolts that go into the radio from the bottom, you can't see them so you just have to feel around. After that you pull on the bottom of the radio and then work your way up to undo the clips. Swap over the heat vents if your replacement didn't come with them and reinstall.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
OK, looking at units now. I have a 2004. Am I safe with any 2004? The seller I have contacted asked for a part number. I have seen 39175-SEC-L010-M1 (or is that just for the stereo?) but I wonder if that is for a variety of years. The seller is skeptical that the parts will work (mentioned different ventilation options on the parts) and will require a 20% return fee, so I want to get it right. On a more important note, am I going to need an unlock code? If I don't need a code for the non-navi, I am sure I can save some money.

Thanks!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
Better do some reading, there are some issues with 2004 stereo/AC/NAV units. You will need a code, but I think you can get that from Acura via their web site

If you're looking at a used unit, beware that the CD player and/or console backlights may not work, those are common failures. The stock/radio/nav unit is all controlled by one motherboard.

Here's one thread...




I decided not to try to fix my motherboard, since that wouldn't fix my CD player or add bluetooth. Instead I got this aftermarket replacement, which has an AC control panel which replicates the OEM panel, and a hole for a modern stereo, so you can add any stereo you like (with touchscreen, Nav, BT, etc). Picture of mine at the end of this thread:

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
You think I will have these problems putting a non-nav in place of my nav? The unit I get will be guaranteed working, I just want to make sure it is "plug and play"

I just saw a console from Aug 2003 and the part number is 39101-SEC-A010-M1. This is probably the one. So, just to be clear, I need a code when installing a non-nav unit?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
I'm not sure if you can install a non-nav unit in your car, not sure if the wiring harness would be the same.

You always seem to need a code any time power is removed from the stereo (ie changing battery, disconnect battery, disconnect stereo). The code is specific to the motherboard of the stereo unit, and * should* be provided by any seller.

A used seller can just provide the code that came with his car.

A new unit should have the code attached in the packaging.

If the code is nor provided (or incorrect, apparently that's common), IIRC you can use the serial number of the motherboard to get a code from Acura's website. Copy the serial number before you install it, otherwise you would have to remove the unit again to get the serial # if the provided code doesn't work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
I'm not sure if you can install a non-nav unit in your car, not sure if the wiring harness would be the same.

You always seem to need a code any time power is removed from the stereo (ie changing battery, disconnect battery, disconnect stereo). The code is specific to the motherboard of the stereo unit, and * should* be provided by any seller.

A used seller can just provide the code that came with his car.

A new unit should have the code attached in the packaging.

If the code is nor provided (or incorrect, apparently that's common), IIRC you can use the serial number of the motherboard to get a code from Acura's website. Copy the serial number before you install it, otherwise you would have to remove the unit again to get the serial # if the provided code doesn't work.
Man, I have to find someone that has done this. These units are not cheap.

Thanks for all the information!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
If you have ever taken out a radio/door panel/etc it is pretty easy. There is a screw behind the flasher button, and a screw on each side under the silver/wood trim pieces that go along the dash (the trim pops off with a pry tool). Then you grab the pocket under the radio and pull it straight out. There are two bolts that go into the radio from the bottom, you can't see them so you just have to feel around. After that you pull on the bottom of the radio and then work your way up to undo the clips. Swap over the heat vents if your replacement didn't come with them and reinstall.
Did you switch a nav unit to non-nav?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
I'm not sure if you can install a non-nav unit in your car, not sure if the wiring harness would be the same.

You always seem to need a code any time power is removed from the stereo (ie changing battery, disconnect battery, disconnect stereo). The code is specific to the motherboard of the stereo unit, and * should* be provided by any seller.

A used seller can just provide the code that came with his car.

A new unit should have the code attached in the packaging.

If the code is nor provided (or incorrect, apparently that's common), IIRC you can use the serial number of the motherboard to get a code from Acura's website. Copy the serial number before you install it, otherwise you would have to remove the unit again to get the serial # if the provided code doesn't work.
Thanks! Will Do.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Did you switch a nav unit to non-nav?
Yes, I put an 06 non-nav in my 08 Nav car. It just plugged in and works. The only thing that doesn't is the clock above the AC vents. You need a non-nav clock if you want to keep that.

When I researched it the part number for pre 06 units was different.
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
About this Discussion
21 Replies
10 Participants
Lopas_Der
Acura TSX Forum
TSX Club is the perfect forum for Acura TSX fans and Owners, where you can discuss concerns about reliability or how to upgrade your TSX with mods and accessories.
Full Forum Listing
Top