Acura TSX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a totally random thread. I've just started to notice that every time I drive, I look at my rpm gauge constantly, almost every time it shifts or revving up from stop to go, etc. It's like I want to keep it in a specific range and don't want to drive the car freely without looking at the rpms. Before I had this car, I never even bothered to look. Just wondering, do most of you guys do that too or is it just me?

My car is an automatic too so it's not like I have to know when to shift lol.

·
Registered
292 Posts
I'm pretty new to this car, and getting used to feeling the engine, and where It's happy and where It's not. So yes, I do check the revs quite a bit.
I HATE the way the auto box tries to pull a gear from under 2k revs, often nearer to 1000. It lugs the engine and It's rough on the bits that count.
I'm more often driving in manual mode to keep the revs up. It's the worst aspect of what I think is a brilliant car, and I suspect it caused some well documented problem

·
Registered
292 Posts
So here;s a question.

Are you actually getting better gas mileage keeping the revs right down low?

My car doesn't have a real time fuel usage guage. My BMW and Volvo did.
The consumption was worse (much worse) at low revs when under load than when the revs were a little further up around the torque peak where the engine is most efficient.
I don't see that the Honda would be any different.

·
Registered
292 Posts
^^ Only ppl with a scangauge can comment on that, but for city driving I wouldn't go to the high rpms and then soon press on the brakes at th next red stop light.
Do any of our cars have these gauges? This is the first car I've had in years that doesn't.
Still, comparing engines and their characteristics, the closest I've had recently is the Volvo 2.8 litre 5 cylinder. Lower rev limit than the Honda with a little more low down torque.