Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the past 3 months or so I have had an intermittant bouncing idle that I have been unable to isolate a cause of. I am a trained Ford Technician but I don't deal with newer Honda's very often. The issue acts almost exactly like a faulty FITV (fast idle throttle valve) issue from older Honda's like my 98 Prelude. It wont throw a check engine light and I don't have access to a scan tool that will read parameters with a fast enough refresh rate to keep up with the bouncy idle.

The car: Stock 2006 Acura TSX 6spd manual with appx 118k miles.

What Happens: The car will drive normal above 1500 rpm and accel quite well without any hiccups, hesitation, or misfires but when it drops down to idle it will stay constant at 900 rpm inticated briefly then dips to 3-400 rpm then shoots up to as high as 2000 rpm. Not always consistant the highs and lows can be quite eratic and seem to have no pattern to inputs from the clutch, brake, ac, or electrical draw.

When it happens: More often in colder temperatures, but normally 3-4 times a day on my 30 mile round trip commute containing mostly city driving. Most often noticeable when the car is warm but not hot. Basically after there is enough heat to bring the needle about a 1/4 way up but before it kicks on the radiator fans at full operating temp. The symptoms are worse when the temprature is around 40* or colder, and by that I mean more frequent and more violent.

What I've done so far: I have smoke tested it a few times and have been unable to find any vacuum leaks, but the bouncy idle normally stops by time I can hook up the machine which may be skewing the results. I hooked up a vacuum guage and the pressure is high when the idle is dropping and is momentairly lower when the idle is raising but starts to go high again as the idle reaches its peak.