Acura TSX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
From RSX to TSX.
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

New to the forum and new TSX in the driveway. Looks sick, drives well, but the sound is lacking. My RSX Type S that I just totaled before I had before the TSX had a ballin' stock sound system and I never had to worry about sound or learn much about it. I'm new to this whole sound thing so I was hoping you could help me out.

Here are the issues:
- Front door speakers rattle - not sure if the speakers are blown or if the panels are rattling but its not good
- any significant volume causes the bass to bottom out and get distorted
- the sound isn't crisp or very loud. Can't turn it up to high anyways because the base will bottom out. Even on negative bass.

Needless to say I need this rectified. I have some questions I hope you guys can help me with.

First off, I've done the research on the site through other various threads and I'm still confused so I'm starting my own thread.

1) How many speakers are in the car and what are their locations? I understand their are 2 "tweeters" which are the speakers in the dash? I don't think I wanna mess with those. Then there are the 2 speakers in the front door panels. These I guess are 6'5 inch or something? Definitely want to upgrade these. Then are there 2 in the back door panels I think that are also 6.5". Then finally there are the 2 6x9 speakers/subs in the back. Is that all right?

2) What are spacers and will the make my car look aftermarket and not OEM/stock? I want to avoid having it looked modded if I can.

3) What speakers are the best value? How would I order the proper ones? I don't want to break the bank and I don't need a completely badass speaker set up either. It can't be badass without a bigger/secondary amp. I've seen names like Alpine Type S and Inifniti thrown out there. Which one has the best value and will leave my car looking stock? Custom fabrication not optimal.