Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
As im still new to driving stick-shift, i was j/looking for a little advice..

whats the best way to launch a car with a manual transmission at the track?

and wats the proper way to burn-out thru the water before lining up?

thanks guys :)

·
, Moderator Emeritus
10,086 Posts
Hey, Nocturnal!!! I don't have the answer to your question, because I'm a 5AT guy. But, it looks like you have the answer to my question -- Where is there a track anywhere near New York City?? I looked into it a little, and it seemed the closest one would be up near Albany.

·
, Administrator Emeritus
10,660 Posts
NocturnalTSX said:
wats the proper way to burn-out thru the water before lining up?
The proper way with street tire's is to drive around the water, and not to burn out. :nono:
The water is there for people with slicks, who need to bring their tire's up to temp for maximum traction. You do not need to do this with street tires. Not to mention your times may actually be worse, as the tread will pull water up onto the tires.
I have not launched the TSX yet, as I am still breaking mine in. So I have no idea what the best RPM to launch is.
Your best bet is to go to the track, and practice.
Please let us know how it goes, and save your tires/brake's by staying out of the water ;)

·
, Administrator Emeritus
10,660 Posts
Also, here is a hint.
If your tree has 3 light's before the green, launch on the 2nd light. ;)

Example

light #1
light #2 - launch!!
light #3
green

You might foul a couple at first.. But practice, and you should be nailing it in no time!!

·
, Moderator Emeritus
10,086 Posts
What would we do without this dude?

I think you might have just shaved a couple of tenths for me. :D

(And besides that, I didn't even know there were "trees" or "3 lights before the green" either.) :donno:

·
, Administrator Emeritus
10,660 Posts
larchmont said: