Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

this is my first time using the forum and hopefully I am posting in the correct forum.

I purchased a 2004 TSX as a 3rd car for myself, to use when the weather is harsh. It’s been a very reliable beater and cost efficient.

My question how will the car run on 87 instead of 91? I know it will decrease mileage and power but by how much? I could nearly save 15-20$ a tank here. I do know the K24 are fairly high compression but the cars old and I don’t really care for it like that. Is there any major engine issues I will deal with also?

thanks!

·
Registered
259 Posts
Many have reported the car runs fine with 87. Can't say how much power or effeciency you would lose but I doubt it would be worth an extra $1/gal... If it's just a bad weather beater, I'd run 87 and just avoid WOT. Shouldn't need WOT in bad weather anyway.

·
Registered
131 Posts
I purchased a 2004 TSX as a 3rd car for myself, to use when the weather is harsh. It’s been a very reliable beater and cost efficient.

My question how will the car run on 87 instead of 91? I know it will decrease mileage and power but by how much? I could nearly save 15-20$ a tank here. I do know the K24 are fairly high compression but the cars old and I don’t really care for it like that. Is there any major engine issues I will deal with also?
First, to answer your question - I'm pretty sure this car will run on 87, it will just run with less performance when it detects the lower octane fuel as the ECU adjusts the timing. I don't think you'll do any engine damage, only have less fun with the car under spirited driving conditions, which it sounds like you're not using it for anyway.

Second, to ask one - saving $15-20 a tank?! Holy frijoles!

I am guessing from the little Canadian flag icon next to your username that you are in Canada.