Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, hello TSXclub members! I'm a noob to the forum and TSX world (although I've owned Acura's in the past). I'm currently looking for a 2010-2011 TSX and hopefully I'll end up getting one soon!

My question is, would you consider buying a 2011 TSX that has been in a major accident? I came across one at my local dealership that caught my eye. The car looks almost brand new, only has 32,000 kms and drives extremely smooth. The only problem is that it has an insurance claim of about $13,000 on it - ouch! The dealership says that it had an accident at 28,000 kms to the front left, but that's it. They couldn't provide much detail on the accident or what exactly was affected.

Is this a car I should completely avoid? I live in Canada and the insurance claim is almost half of the market value for a TSX with no accident history here. Normally I would stay away from a claim that large, but the sales guy says that nothing structurally was damaged (I know... He's just being a salesman!). Is it possible that the car didn't have anything structurally wrong with it even though the claim amount was so high? Could it all be cosmetic for that amount? If this is a car that should be worth considering, what's a good price to pay for it if the market value is about $29,000? This is for a fully loaded V4 automatic with tech package and they're asking $25,800 for it... Is $23,000 fair?

I don't have a carfax account, but the VIN is JH4CU2F6XBC800071 if someone can check to find out more info. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

·
, Chief SuperModerator, Info Center / Car Care & D
5,036 Posts
My brother got into an accident worth $8K in damage. His wheels caved into the well and the suspension system was in half. There were also major side damage. It was bad. I told my brother it might not drive the same. He has yet to get it back so I can't get an opinion from him.