Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
590 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
my car would make a squeeky sound when i started it and after a bit it would go away started few weeks after the steering pump line recall was done

i thought it was the belt, but it looked fine

today the noise got worse so i sprayed some wd40 on the steering pump pulley center and the noise got really bad

is the pump gone? or is it something else?

·
, Moderator, Performance
2,513 Posts
Check all of your belts, spraying wd40 was a bad idea bc it'll make your belt slip worse. They make a pulley sprey that makes squeaks go away, you can give that a shot.

·
Registered
585 Posts
WD-40 IS NOT a lubricant! It is a de-greaser, and will clean the existing grease that was on your pulley, leaving it dry and vulnerable to friction.

I don't know what the next step is because I am not a certified mechanic. That pulley spray suggested might help.

But I'd get that thing checked out by a professional ASAP!

·
, Moderator, Performance
2,513 Posts
WD-40 IS NOT a lubricant! It is a de-greaser, and will clean the existing grease that was on your pulley, leaving it dry and vulnerable to friction.

I don't know what the next step is because I am not a certified mechanic. That pulley spray suggested might help.

But I'd get that thing checked out by a professional ASAP!
WD-40 Frequently Asked Questions read this before you say its NOT a lube:

How is WD-40 different from 3-IN-ONE®?
WD-40 is the ultimate multi-purpose problem solver. WD-40 cleans/degreases, penetrates to loosen up stuck parts, prevents corrosion and is a light lubricant. 3-IN-ONE, with it's special drip spout, enables you to lubricate without any overspray or splatter. 3-IN-ONE is ideal to use on tools, rollers, hinges, in-line skates, wheels...nearly everything that moves.

it will cause the belt to slip, briefly until it burns off, but it will get louder with a touch of wd on it

·
Registered
585 Posts