Acura TSX Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i have been running on some Hawk HP+ pads and Brembo rotors for a couple of months now. I start noticing a groan when i'd brake at lower speeds. The noise has gotten progressively worse and worse and now when going slower speeds if I brake hard the grinding noise sounds like the pad or something is just eating the rotor.

What could cause this?

The noise is terrible to the point where I must not brake hard because I think something will destroy itself... by looking at the rotors they don't have any large grooves in them..

Please help

·
Registered
1,666 Posts
i would probably take the wheels off and have a look. If something is grinding, you will find it. It will mar the metal somewhere. Could be a lose bolt, could be something on the pad. Until you take it apart its anyones guess.

·
Slow but turns
2,961 Posts
Did you check both sides of the pads? I mean, there really is no way of looking at it besides taking off your rims and double checking to make sure your brakes have not been shot. Not only that, it gives you a better vision to see if there may be a needle or something stuck inside your brake pad+rotor.

Edit: Just repeated jvillefinest's answer, but oh well let us know if you find anything. :)
If you dont see anything I would personally take the pads off and inspect.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Alright so I took it all apart yesterday, everything was tight, caliper is not seized..

There was also nothing stuck in between. No abnormal wear.

One thing i did notice however was that the pads were very shiny. I think they might have glazed over, I tried sanding hem ever so slightly to no avail but I will try to sand them alot more on the weekend.

Could glazed pads make groaning/grinding noises??

They have also like 80% left on them, these things are brand new from the month of February lol

·
Premium Member
2,513 Posts