Acura TSX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
, Administrator Emeritus
5,994 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys
I have a little topic I need to do some research on, and would appreciate your input on this. Right off the bat, I have to admit that as much as I know a lot about car electrical/electronics stuff, I have little true knowledge about audio designs. Just never really dealt with it other than simple speaker swaps, amps add-ons.

I'm really sick and tires of the audio quality in my car. We also have a Honda Element, (which my wife usually drives), and the sound system in that car is night and day comparing to TSX. TSX audio sucks real bad, and from what I recently read about from other TSX users, most are in agreement on this.

I don't know why I never had time to look into that in the past, perhaps because of other projects, and because I wasn't driving it much. Now I drive a little more every day, so sound quality and volume would really help in those trips.

So far I upgraded the rear 6x9 with 3-way MTX TDX6903. That helped a bit, but only with base, since as we know the rear deck only handles low base in mono. Next step I wanted to take is upgrade fronts with Alpine Type S components and rear doors with coaxial Alpine Type S. However, the sound volume is not enough for me even now, and especially when I run an MP3 player connected to aux, which has an even lower volume.